Praise for AIP's Non-fiction

by Jennifer 4. October 2016 11:02

Industry Talk by Jennifer Brozek
"This is a clear, informative, and insightful guide. I enjoyed the conversational tone and was reassured by its professionalism. Jennifer Brozek has a broad range of experience in a number of facets in the industry and she's packed a lot of wisdom into this collection of essays. It isn't going to tell you every little thing, but it does provide excellent points of focus."

Jay Lake's Process of Writing by Jay Lake
"There are so many fascinating details & process gems in Jay's writing book. I've seen a lot of this stuff in his blog over the years (it’s mostly composed of blog posts), but reading it all in one place is mind-blowing. It's an unconventional writing book, but definitely worthwhile to study the evolution of Jay's writing process and his various other ruminations on the subject. Write more!"



Tags: , , ,

Praise for the Cross Cutting series by Wendy Hammer

by Jennifer 21. September 2016 10:22

The Thin
Starting a new series from a new author can be a scary situation, thankfully The Thin, is a well-written, fast moving, tension-filled read that leaves the reader craving more. Urban fantasy readers will enjoy this new take on Wardens and Guardians in a new setting. Plus you get a kick ass woman lead! Wendy Hammer doesn't leave you much time to guess what happens next. So if you are looking for your next quick read, I advise you to pick this one up.

The Hollow
How do you follow up a great story? Well if you are Wendy Hammer, author of the Cross Cutting series, you start with focusing on a secondary character in book 1. My only complaint was this book is over way too quickly. The quick action, development of a thing between Ache and Trinidad and the world building pulls you in quickly and doesn't let go until the end. Can't wait until book 3 comes out.


Tags: , , ,

Praise for the Karen Wilson Chronicles by Jennifer Brozek

by Jennifer 8. September 2016 10:31

Karen Wilson Chronicles
"This urban fantasy (with a little bit of a dark edge) collection is a series of connected and related short stories, but each one is complete in itself. There are gaps of time between them. Characters allude to events that have taken place in those gaps, without actively spelling any of them out. This is actually a strength of the work—we get to skip to the "good bits" without having to sacrifice the sense that there's a larger world out there where things actually take time to happen. While there's a lot of worldbuilding and some really interesting twists on classic genre themes, it feels like there's even more going on. It feels like there's a world beyond the page." —Steven Saus

Caller Unknown
"I was surprised at how well this was written. It was complete in and of itself while fitting into a series (or so it is advertised—I plan to find out by reading the series). You can read more than enough about the plot or the setting. I just wanted to confirm it is carried off well without gratuitous sex or other miscellaneous material. Two thumbs up." —S. Marsh

Children of Anu
"Seldom does an author execute storytelling with an effective immersive flair. This book was responsible for many nights lost of sleep, but well worth it. Also you will want to buy the protagonist, Karen Wilson a drink, many times. Heck I've wanted to be like, 'Here's a fifth of rum, you've gonna need it.'" —A. Mayor

"With each chapter, Keystones builds more and more tension as the characters realize everything they've worked for in the past is crumbling. And while the magical community is crumbling, Karen Wilson has to figure out a way to bring them together as one to defeat the darkness that threatens them all. Karen is a very strong character and dives the story line. Jennifer combines many characters with many different traits and flaws into her series. She's convincing enough that even non-humans such as gargoyles seem very human." —S. Hendrix

Chimera Incarnate

"Most importantly, the saga of Karen Wilson herself has come full circle. The beginning of the book sees her at her lowest point, but she manages to pull herself back from the brink. Initially, I was bummed that the Master of the City had less of a role to play in this book, but then I realized how important that was. Karen has to be her own person, not the Master’s puppet, and this book shows how far she’s come into her own in this regard.

"The author deftly ties up so many loose ends in so little time, while also introducing more interesting characters and ideas in order to heighten the tension of this last battle! The “serial novel” concept continued to work well over the course of all four books, even when so many characters and events needed to be balanced and maintained." —JL Gribble


Tags: , , , ,

Praise for the Gentlemen Ghouls series by Ivan Ewert

by Jennifer 16. August 2016 08:28

Gentleman Ghouls
"Ivan Ewert inks in the people and the isolation in this rural horror so darkly and so well that you'll never complain about traffic or strip malls ever again." - Kenneth Hite, TOUR DE LOVECRAFT

Famished: The Farm
"It's a horror book that is well written, has a story line, and characters that are much more than "Next Victim" or "Guy with Spooky Mask." A shocker with all of the "Saw"-like movies, stories, and books out there. The cheap shock, the cheap scare ... that's what's big. But if you like horror that is actually well written and a good read? Here's your book." - Daniel Glovier

"Ivan Ewert's FAMISHED: THE FARM is some fun, old-school horror.  Ancient gods, cannibalism, and more than a little madness.  Ivan Ewert is a seriously twisted writer." - Stephen Blackmoore, DEAD THINGS

Famished: The Commons
"This story is phenomenal. I could not put it down. This book is horror mixed with adventure, with a great cast of characters along for the ride. Linh is my favorite - smart and tough with a functioning brain in her head. She reminds me of Rose Daniels from Rose Madder, one of my favorite novels. You won't stop cheering for her and Gordon. If you love creepy, smart horror that just begs you to sleep with the lights on and trust no one, read Famished: The Commons. You won't be disappointed!" - Blanche Devereaux


Tags: , , ,

Praise for the Sheynan Trilogy by Dylan Birtolo

by Jennifer 11. August 2016 09:48

The Sheynan Trilogy

"Within in mere moments of opening this book, I have been hooked, unable to put the book down. Many hours of sleep have been lost in reading such a gripping tale of one exciting adventure after the other. I highly recommend this trilogy to all as the story is really well rounded, which each character given such depth that you will like them all.

This modern fantasy kicks all the sparkly vampire books in the spine as it takes you on an amazing ride into the world of the unseen and unknown, leaving you breathless and wanting more. Every chapter pulls you deeper, making it difficult to stop and tear yourself away from the mastery that leaps from each page, creating this fantastical world to lose yourself in."

The Shadow Chaser
"The Shadow Chaser is an exciting, original novel about a young man who discovers a power that will transform his life forever. Repeatedly losing consciousness for no apparent reason and waking up disoriented in strange places, he embarks on a journey into realities he never knew existed, and he must figure out the changes in his life to survive. A suspenseful saga of self-discovery and the struggle to adapt to supernatural abilities, forces, and enemies." - Midwest Book Review

The Bringer of War
"What will happen to my friends Darian, Richard and Susan? Wow! When I have to forgo sleep to finish a book than it definitely has my attention. I was immersed in the modern world, yet I was thinking about previous times. The twists made me scream in frustration and laugh at the same time." - B&W Photogeek

The Torn Soul
"The Torn Soul is the final book of the Sheynan Trilogy and I was sad to see it end. It keeps you turning pages well past bedtime. For all of the shapeshifter fans, give this series a try."


Tags: , ,

Praise for the Flotsam Trilogy by Peter M. Ball

by Jennifer 3. August 2016 09:47

Flotsam Trilogy Omnibus
Cracking open this book was like walking into a movie theatre. Peter's descriptions of the city and characters made it possible to visualize them. The action was crisp, fast-paced and never over the top. It's certainly not  an easy book to set down and I found myself reading until almost dawn.

Excellent noir yarn with well interwoven demonic and supernatural aspects. Really good worldbuilding and I'm keen to read the next one. - Alan Baxter

This action-packed supernatural thriller improves on the previous volume in Peter M. Ball's Flotsam series, Exile. Continuing its deep dive into the hard-boiled supernatural underbelly of Queensland's Gold Coast, the action in Frost centers on grimy, compromised monster hunter Keith Murphy's bargain with a demonic crime boss and a brewing gang war with a bikie gang. - Dave Versace

Peter Ball's trilogy of dark urban fantasy novellas comes to a very satisfying close. This low-key epic of guns, demons and Fimbulwinter on the Gold Coast was a fun, pulpy adventure, but with unexpected moments of emotion and pathos scattered here and there. - Patrick O'Duffy


Tags: ,

Industry Talk Review

by Jennifer 6. March 2013 12:59

"Lighthearted, informative, and engaging, Jennifer Brozek's Industry Talk: An Insider's Look at Writing RPGs and Editing Anthologies focuses on RPG freelancing and anthology editing, but has much to offer any beginning author or editor seeking an understanding of the publishing business. And while this slim volume may not answer every question a seasoned industry veteran might come up with, Brozek's glimpse behind the curtain and sharing of her freelance and editorial processes is greatly appreciated. Industry Talk is the book of secret wisdom I wish I'd had access to before publishing The Book of Cthulhu." -Ross E. Lockhart



Short and Sweet Reviews

by Jennifer 26. January 2013 17:36

Short and sweet reviews for our Apocalypse Ink Production books on Amazon:

Industry Talk - five stars
"This book contains a number of essays about two specific fields: Role-Playing Game Freelance Writing and Editing Anthologies. It was though the author had been looking over my shoulder and decided to help me out by giving advice for all of my pending projects. If you are interested in either topic, I highly recommend this book." -Jason Andrew

Famished: The Farm - five stars
"I  don't normally read the horror genre, but this book kept me riveted to the very end! Highly recommend to anyone who loves to be scared and horrified!!" -Kelly S. Madsen

Caller Unknown - five stars
"I was surprised at how well this was written. It was complete in and of itself while fitting into a series (or so it is advertised -- I plan to find out by reading the series). You can read more than enough about the plot or the setting. I just wanted to confirm it is carried off well without gratuitous sex or other miscellaneous material. Two thumbs up." -S. Marsh


Tags: , , ,

Cat Rambo likes Caller Unknown

by Jennifer 17. December 2012 15:28

Cat Rambo gave Jennifer Brozek's Caller Unknown a lovely blurb today. Remember, you can buy the book from AIP and get the hard copy book signed.

"Brozek gives us the world the way it should be - full of hidden pockets of magic, ancient evils, and supernatural creatures - along with a heroine fully capable of dealing with all of the above."
- Cat Rambo, author of Near + Far and A Seed Upon the Wind

Tags: , ,


by Jennifer 19. November 2012 21:50

"This collection isn't really a collection. It's a novel told through a series of short stories; very much like a mosaic work. In general, it's a very effective way to tell Karen's story. Each chapter is punchy, fast-paced and action packed. Sometimes, though, I wanted to know more about what was happening - the stories that occurred between each chapter. Fortunately, the collection had a bonus story at the end, which helped sastify some of the questions I had developed."
- Amanda Pillar, editor of Bloodstones

"While there's a lot of worldbuilding and some really interesting twists on classic genre themes, it feels like there's even more going on.  It feels like there's a world beyond the page."
- Steven Saus, author, editor, publisher

Tags: ,

Apocalypse Ink Productions

A small press publication house specializing in dark speculative fiction.
Join the Google group.

Latest Releases

Famished: The Ranch
Gentlemen Ghouls #3
More Information. Buy Now.
Cross Cutting series #2
More Information. Buy Now.

Karen Wilson Chronicles

More Information
. Buy now.

AIP Firsts
eBook Bundle

More Information. Buy now.

The Flotsam Trilogy

More Information. Buy now.

The Sheynan Trilogy
More InformationBuy Now.

Chimera Incarnate

Karen Wilson Chronicles #4
More InformationBuy Now.

Jay Lake's
Process of Writing
More Information, Buy Now.