Praise for the Gentlemen Ghouls series by Ivan Ewert

by Jennifer 16. August 2016 08:28

Gentleman Ghouls
"Ivan Ewert inks in the people and the isolation in this rural horror so darkly and so well that you'll never complain about traffic or strip malls ever again." - Kenneth Hite, TOUR DE LOVECRAFT

Famished: The Farm
"It's a horror book that is well written, has a story line, and characters that are much more than "Next Victim" or "Guy with Spooky Mask." A shocker with all of the "Saw"-like movies, stories, and books out there. The cheap shock, the cheap scare ... that's what's big. But if you like horror that is actually well written and a good read? Here's your book." - Daniel Glovier

"Ivan Ewert's FAMISHED: THE FARM is some fun, old-school horror.  Ancient gods, cannibalism, and more than a little madness.  Ivan Ewert is a seriously twisted writer." - Stephen Blackmoore, DEAD THINGS

Famished: The Commons
"This story is phenomenal. I could not put it down. This book is horror mixed with adventure, with a great cast of characters along for the ride. Linh is my favorite - smart and tough with a functioning brain in her head. She reminds me of Rose Daniels from Rose Madder, one of my favorite novels. You won't stop cheering for her and Gordon. If you love creepy, smart horror that just begs you to sleep with the lights on and trust no one, read Famished: The Commons. You won't be disappointed!" - Blanche Devereaux

 

Tags: , , ,

Praise for the Sheynan Trilogy by Dylan Birtolo

by Jennifer 11. August 2016 09:48

The Sheynan Trilogy

"Within in mere moments of opening this book, I have been hooked, unable to put the book down. Many hours of sleep have been lost in reading such a gripping tale of one exciting adventure after the other. I highly recommend this trilogy to all as the story is really well rounded, which each character given such depth that you will like them all.

This modern fantasy kicks all the sparkly vampire books in the spine as it takes you on an amazing ride into the world of the unseen and unknown, leaving you breathless and wanting more. Every chapter pulls you deeper, making it difficult to stop and tear yourself away from the mastery that leaps from each page, creating this fantastical world to lose yourself in."


The Shadow Chaser
"The Shadow Chaser is an exciting, original novel about a young man who discovers a power that will transform his life forever. Repeatedly losing consciousness for no apparent reason and waking up disoriented in strange places, he embarks on a journey into realities he never knew existed, and he must figure out the changes in his life to survive. A suspenseful saga of self-discovery and the struggle to adapt to supernatural abilities, forces, and enemies." - Midwest Book Review

The Bringer of War
"What will happen to my friends Darian, Richard and Susan? Wow! When I have to forgo sleep to finish a book than it definitely has my attention. I was immersed in the modern world, yet I was thinking about previous times. The twists made me scream in frustration and laugh at the same time." - B&W Photogeek

The Torn Soul
"The Torn Soul is the final book of the Sheynan Trilogy and I was sad to see it end. It keeps you turning pages well past bedtime. For all of the shapeshifter fans, give this series a try."

 

Tags: , ,

Praise for the Flotsam Trilogy by Peter M. Ball

by Jennifer 3. August 2016 09:47

Flotsam Trilogy Omnibus
Cracking open this book was like walking into a movie theatre. Peter's descriptions of the city and characters made it possible to visualize them. The action was crisp, fast-paced and never over the top. It's certainly not  an easy book to set down and I found myself reading until almost dawn.

Exile
Excellent noir yarn with well interwoven demonic and supernatural aspects. Really good worldbuilding and I'm keen to read the next one. - Alan Baxter

Frost
This action-packed supernatural thriller improves on the previous volume in Peter M. Ball's Flotsam series, Exile. Continuing its deep dive into the hard-boiled supernatural underbelly of Queensland's Gold Coast, the action in Frost centers on grimy, compromised monster hunter Keith Murphy's bargain with a demonic crime boss and a brewing gang war with a bikie gang. - Dave Versace

Crusade
Peter Ball's trilogy of dark urban fantasy novellas comes to a very satisfying close. This low-key epic of guns, demons and Fimbulwinter on the Gold Coast was a fun, pulpy adventure, but with unexpected moments of emotion and pathos scattered here and there. - Patrick O'Duffy

 

Tags: ,

Industry Talk Review

by Jennifer 6. March 2013 12:59

"Lighthearted, informative, and engaging, Jennifer Brozek's Industry Talk: An Insider's Look at Writing RPGs and Editing Anthologies focuses on RPG freelancing and anthology editing, but has much to offer any beginning author or editor seeking an understanding of the publishing business. And while this slim volume may not answer every question a seasoned industry veteran might come up with, Brozek's glimpse behind the curtain and sharing of her freelance and editorial processes is greatly appreciated. Industry Talk is the book of secret wisdom I wish I'd had access to before publishing The Book of Cthulhu." -Ross E. Lockhart

 

Tags:

Short and Sweet Reviews

by Jennifer 26. January 2013 17:36

Short and sweet reviews for our Apocalypse Ink Production books on Amazon:

Industry Talk - five stars
"This book contains a number of essays about two specific fields: Role-Playing Game Freelance Writing and Editing Anthologies. It was though the author had been looking over my shoulder and decided to help me out by giving advice for all of my pending projects. If you are interested in either topic, I highly recommend this book." -Jason Andrew

Famished: The Farm - five stars
"I  don't normally read the horror genre, but this book kept me riveted to the very end! Highly recommend to anyone who loves to be scared and horrified!!" -Kelly S. Madsen

Caller Unknown - five stars
"I was surprised at how well this was written. It was complete in and of itself while fitting into a series (or so it is advertised -- I plan to find out by reading the series). You can read more than enough about the plot or the setting. I just wanted to confirm it is carried off well without gratuitous sex or other miscellaneous material. Two thumbs up." -S. Marsh

 

Tags: , , ,

Cat Rambo likes Caller Unknown

by Jennifer 17. December 2012 15:28

Cat Rambo gave Jennifer Brozek's Caller Unknown a lovely blurb today. Remember, you can buy the book from AIP and get the hard copy book signed.

"Brozek gives us the world the way it should be - full of hidden pockets of magic, ancient evils, and supernatural creatures - along with a heroine fully capable of dealing with all of the above."
- Cat Rambo, author of Near + Far and A Seed Upon the Wind


Tags: , ,

Praise for CALLER UNKNOWN

by Jennifer 19. November 2012 21:50

"This collection isn't really a collection. It's a novel told through a series of short stories; very much like a mosaic work. In general, it's a very effective way to tell Karen's story. Each chapter is punchy, fast-paced and action packed. Sometimes, though, I wanted to know more about what was happening - the stories that occurred between each chapter. Fortunately, the collection had a bonus story at the end, which helped sastify some of the questions I had developed."
- Amanda Pillar, editor of Bloodstones


"While there's a lot of worldbuilding and some really interesting twists on classic genre themes, it feels like there's even more going on.  It feels like there's a world beyond the page."
- Steven Saus, author, editor, publisher


Tags: ,

Praise for FAMISHED: THE FARM

by Jennifer 3. October 2012 14:24

"Ivan Ewert's FAMISHED: THE FARM blends horror and Americana like a Texas cook blends spices. And just you wait 'till he starts the fire." - Kenneth Hite, TOUR DE LOVECRAFT

"Ivan Ewert's FAMISHED: THE FARM is some fun, old-school horror.  Ancient gods, cannibalism, and more than a little madness.  Ivan Ewert is a seriously twisted writer." - Stephen Blackmoore, DEAD THINGS

 

Tags: , ,

INDUSTRY TALK is Required Reading

by Jennifer 15. June 2012 10:04

We have new review for Industry Talk: An Insider's Look at Writing RPGs and Editing Anthologies. I have to admit, it is a pretty awesome one, too.

"If you've ever thought about freelance writing or putting together an anthology

(and especially if you want to do either in the games industry), this book is well worth

the price of admission." -Steven Saus


The reviewer is also owner of Alliteration Ink Publishing. He has declared that to pitch an anthology to him, Industry Talk is required reading. I am very please by this.

 

Tags:

Industry Talk Review

by Jennifer 27. May 2012 18:22

This review of Industry Talk comes from the "Shroud of the Ancients" Avocations website with an over all rating of 9/10:

"This book was a pleasure to read. Jennifer's relaxed, conversational style is comforting and encouraging without the Pollyanna sugar coating. Whether she is discussing the perils of contract negotiation or the necessity of persistence, she provides a "no-nonsense" approach to the information at hand. Thank goodness! I can't tell you how many "informative" books I have read where the author spent three hundred pages dancing around the subject matter, when he could have given me the skinny in ninety."

 

 

Tags:

Apocalypse Ink Productions

A small press publication house specializing in dark speculative fiction.
Join the Google group.

Latest Releases


Famished: The Ranch
Gentlemen Ghouls #3
More Information. Buy Now.

http://www.apocalypse-ink.com/image.axd?picture=2016%2f5%2fThe+Hollow+Cover+200.jpg
THE HOLLOW
Cross Cutting series #2
More Information. Buy Now.


Karen Wilson Chronicles
Omnibus

More Information
. Buy now.


AIP Firsts
eBook Bundle

More Information. Buy now.


The Flotsam Trilogy
Omnibus

More Information. Buy now.


The Sheynan Trilogy
Omnibus
More InformationBuy Now.


Chimera Incarnate

Karen Wilson Chronicles #4
More InformationBuy Now.


Jay Lake's
Process of Writing
More Information, Buy Now.